IFSC means Indian Financial System Code. The Indian online payment systems like NEFT and RTGS requires IFSC code to locate the branch in which transaction is to be done. These code are directly used by RBI (Reserve Bank of India) to facilitate various interbank transactions. A IFSC Code contains 11 characters – for example – ICIC0001245

Explanation of various elements of IFSC Code

  1. The first 4 characters represent the bank or entity (ICIC0001245) – In this case it is ICICI Bank
  2. Fifth position is right now unused and is left of future use. The default value is 0.
  3. Last 6 characters are digits and identify the branch ( ICIC0001245 ) – In this case it is Worli, Mumbai branch of ICICI Bank

Find the IFSC Code of all the banks in India, just click on the bank link and search the IFSC code of your bank

Nationalised Banks

Allahabad Bank
Andhra Bank
Bank of Baroda
Bank of India
Canara Bank
Central Bank of India
Corporation Bank
Dena Bank
Indian Bank
Indian Overseas Bank
Oriental Bank of Commerce
Punjab National Bank
Punjab & Sind Bank
State Bank of India
Syndicate Bank
Union Bank of India
UCO Bank
United Bank of India
Vijaya Bank

Private Banks

Axis Bank (Formerly UTI Bank)
Federal Bank Ltd.
Karnataka Bank
Karur Vysya Bank
Kotak Mahindra Bank
IndusInd Bank
ING Vysya Bank
South Indian Bank
Yes Bank
City Union Bank

Foreign Banks in India

BNP Paribas
Citi Bank

Subsidiaries of State Bank of India:

State Bank Bikaner & Jaipur
State Bank of Hyderabad
State Bank of Mysore
State Bank of Patiala
State Bank of Travancore